Water Well Contractors (Drillers)

The Office of Land and Water Resources is responsible for licensing and regulating all drillers and pump installers operating in the state. Individuals desiring to engage in the business of water well contracting in the state must file an application for a water well contractor’s license with the Office of Land and Water Resources. Individuals desiring to engage in other businesses that require the drilling of boreholes or wells (other than water supply wells) may file an application for a restricted driller's license that will be valid only for the specified drilling purpose. Individuals desiring to engage in the business of servicing and installing water well pumps must file an application for a pump installer’s license. Licensees in Mississippi must meet specific requirements and demonstrate their competency in drilling and/or pump installation by passing various tests administered either by the office or by the National Groundwater Association (NGWA). A current list of licensed water well contractors, pump installers, and special purpose drillers in the state is compiled by the agency. Other related responsibilities of the Office of Land and Water Resources include maintaining records on all drilled and plugged wells and holes in the state and enforcing pertinent regulations and laws to ensure the protection of groundwater resources. A well contractor licensed in the state of Mississippi must be used for drilling water wells.


LW-2 SURFACE WATER AND GROUNDWATER USE AND PROTECTION REGULATIONS

As of March 24, 2011, new revisions in the regulation which governs water well contractors went into effect.
(LW-3 Licensing of Water Well Contractors) The revisions contain significant changes that will impact water well drillers and pump installers. The new regulation will require individuals to obtain 4 hours of continuing education each year in order to maintain their license. The regulation requires individuals or companies who install or service water well pumps in the state, to obtain a license through MDEQ. Companies engaged in the business must have an individual license holder responsible for certifying the competency of all the company's installers. The initial license fee is $100.00 with an annual renewal fee of $100.00. Also, under the revision of the regulation, water well contractors must register their drilling rigs with the Office of Land and Water Resources. The form needed to register a drilling rig ( Drill Rig Registration Form (OLWR-DR-1 (4/08)) can be downloaded from this website.

Also the State Well Report (commonly referred to as a driller's log), has been revised and is now a two-part form. The first part will contain the information associated with drilling the hole and setting and grouting the casing; the second part will contain information associated with well completion and pump installation. You can download the form (State Well Report Form), as you need it from this website.

Directions for completing and submitting the new State Well Report Form form are as follows:

If you are responsible for the entire project from drilling through completion of the well and there will be no delay between setting the casing and completion of the well, you shall complete both parts of the report and submit it to our office within 30 days of the date the well is completed.

If there will be any delay in installing the pump and completing the well, or if you are not responsible for pump installation, you must complete part one of the report and submit it within 30 days of the date the hole is completed. If you complete the well at a later date, you must complete part two of the report and submit it, along with a copy of the previously submitted part one of the report, within 30 days after well completion.

If you are not responsible for well completion, you must complete part one of the report and submit it within 30 days after the hole is complete. You will furnish a copy of your completed part one of the report and a blank part two of the report to the owner who will be responsible for assuring that the pump installer completes part two of the report and submits the entire report (parts one and two) to our office within 30 days after the pump is installed or the well is completed.

All water well/boring contractors must acquire a license from the Department of Environmental Quality, Office of Land and Water Resources.

All required forms needed by water well contractors are provided in the following links:
To apply for a Water Well Contractor's License
To apply for a Pump Installer's License
To apply for a Driller’s Restricted License
To register a Drilling Rig
To report data obtained when drilling a well
To report the abandonment and decommissioning of a well

Also included below are links for homeowners who may need advice on selecting a water well contractor and maintaining and protecting their water wells.

Related Links


License Application Forms:
Flow Meters for Agricultural wells


For assistance with Water Well Drillers contact Michael Shuttlesworth, Pamela Layton, Wayne Williams, or Ronn Killebrew.

Street AddressMailing Address
    700 North State Street
    Jackson, MS 39202
    Office of Land and Water Resources
    Water Well Drillers
    P.O. Box 2309
    Jackson, MS 39225